BOURNEMOUTH SCHOOL FOR GIRLS

Term Dates

Dates for School Terms and School Day Timings

Please see below the term dates and timings including the planned INSET days (when our teachers undergo CPD or training)

Term Dates for School Year 2022 – 2023

TermDatesHalf Term DatesINSET Days/ Bank Holidays
Autumn Term 2022Tuesday 6th September (Years 7 & 12 only) or Wednesday 7th September (whole school) to
Friday 16th December (Term ends at 12:45pm)
Monday 24th October to Friday 28th OctoberFriday 23rd September
Monday 31st October
Spring Term 2023Tuesday 3rd January 2023 to Friday 31st March (Term ends at 12.45pm )Half Term
Monday 13th to Friday 17th February
None
Summer Term 2023Monday 17th April to Friday 21st July (Term ends at 12.45pm)Monday 29th May – Friday 2nd June
Monday 1st May
Friday 7th July

 

Term Dates for School Year 2023 – 2024

TermDatesHalf Term DatesINSET Days/ Bank Holidays
Autumn Term 2023Tuesday 5th September (Years 7 & 12 only) or Wednesday 6th September (whole school) to Friday 15th December (Term ends at 12:45pm)

Founders’ Day
Tuesday 12th December (No school for years 7 & 8)
Monday 23th October to Friday 27th OctoberFriday 22nd September
Spring Term 2024Tuesday 2nd January 2024 to Thursday 28th March (Term ends at 12.45pm)Monday 12th to Friday 16th FebruaryFriday 9th February
Summer Term 2024Monday 15th April to Friday 19th July (Term ends at 12.45pm)Monday 27th May to Friday 31st May
Monday 6th May

School Day Timings

TimeSchool PeriodActivities
8:30amPre-registrationStudents arrive at Form Room
8:35-8:45amRegistrationChecking pupils have arrived, equipment check.
8:45-9:00amAssembly or Tutor TimeOn assembly days, students will have a 15 minute assembly on the themes of the week.

Otherwise, students will be completing Head of House directed activities with their tutor group in their Form Rooms.
9:00-9:05amTransitionMovement between lessons
9:05-10:05amPeriod 1Lesson 1
10:05-10:10amTransitionMovement between lessons
10:10-11:10amPeriod 2Lesson 2
11:10-11:30amIntervalBreak-time for students
11:30am-12:30pmPeriod 3Lesson 3
12:30-1:30pmLunchtimeStudents can eat their lunch. This is the time when most extra-curricular activities are run.
1:30-2:30pmPeriod 4Lesson 4
2:30-2:35pmTransitionMovement between lessons
2:35-3:35pmPeriod 5Lesson 5
3:35pmEnd of School DayMost students go home, there are a few after school extra-curricular activities that some students may attend.